If you read my blog, you know I can be a bit on the “churchy” side. 🙂  I am okay with this part of my calling and journey. I want to dive a little into what I think has been an incomplete way that the church (see Christians) has normally cheapened and lessened an important thing to understand “sin” and what God wants to do about it.

Now don’t click away too quickly. I know to the irreligious, secular mind sin is archaic and something just used to control people. There is much validity to this point-of-view.

Most of the time sin is portrayed as a moral wrong offending a deity that doesn’t want to be offended.  Sound about right? I have heard it also said that it is our “brokenness” that is our sin. This train of thought makes sense when looking at how seemingly broken our world is around us. The idea points to something not being right in the world, which is quite true. It also implies that things can be fixed. It is noble undertaking to right things in our world, right? As a plumber by trade, I fix things that are broken all the time, sometimes I have to replace items to set them in proper working order. It is easy to think of ourselves as broken though, isn’t it?

What if our human condition is not something to be “fixed” as a toilet or faucet could?

What if this entire model loses our humanity? I think it can do just that. It makes life into a problem to be solved or even a sin to be forgiven, like a transaction. Let me suggest another thought to chew on for a bit. I want to suggest that our main pain is our universal woundedness. We all have wounds. Divorce, physical abuse, mental abuse, sexual abuse, rejection, neglect, death, prison, addiction, self-abuse or neglect, arrogance, gossip, abandonment, and so on.  The wound is not necessarily the problem. Where we all go wrong is acting as if the wound experienced is the only reality and acting in ways to avoid its re-occurrence. This places blinders on our eyes and keeps us from seeking healing or seeing the truth of a situation because we are so afraid of being hurt again. When we operate in the psuedo-reality of our pain as if it is the only truth. We can turn into any number of different kinds of monsters, even the socially acceptable kind.

I think this is what Jesus wants to deal with; our pain ,wounds and healing. He forgives, heals,and reconciles our blinded reality through eachother. He gives us sight and reminds us who we really are; beautiful creations. This is my evolution in my understanding of sin. Our original-woundedness is what we all operate in from time to time (I believe this is the understanding of the Eastern Church). Sins consequences are utterly horrible and will always have to be dealt with. I pray that those who know Christ will be fearless in their vulnerability (in safe environments, don’t cast your pearls before swine) so that others may see the path of healing and reconciliation.

We’re not so much broken as we are bleeding. Let us bind up each other’s wounds and allow the healing to begin.

